top of page

Record number of entrants for the HAA Awards this year

HAA Awards


The 17th year of our Awards scheme attracted 18 entries , a record number , and ranged from Chorleywood in the southwest, Markyate in the north to Ware in the east.

The jury visits took place over two days in October and selected 3 Award Winners and 7 Commendations . These will be presented at the Annual Dinner on 15 November.

The Jury once again included Jeremy Melvin and Alan Johnson together with HAA members John Whalen and Peter Denny.

The HERTFORDSHIRE ASSOCIATION OF ARCHITECTS 17th ANNUAL AWARDS SCHEME is designed to encourage good design and construction in buildings within the County of Hertfordshire and to raise awareness of RIBA Members and Practices within the County in all fields including new build, sustainability, refurbishment and conservation.

The criteria are:

The building must be within the County of Hertfordshire and have been completed between 30th January 2017 and 5th June 2018.

The project architect for Categories 1-5 must be a HAA Member (which includes salaried members within practices)’ For Category 6 OPEN we welcome entries from RIBA members/Chartered Practices who are based outside Hertfordshire.

The time table is;-

31st July Entry forms available

23rd September Last day for receipt of entries.

Mid October Site visit by panel of judges

15th November Presentation of Awards at HAA Annual Dinner By Ben Derbyshire President RIBA

The Categories are:-

1 Small Works up to £150,000 construction cost

2 Conservation and Restoration

3 Commercial /Commercial Housing

4 Community/Civic

5 Domestic

6 Open for non HAA Members and non HAA Practices.

Entry Fees;

£25 for one entry

£45 for two entries

£55 for three entries

( No VAT)

One project may be entered for more than one category. ENTRY FORMS are available here or from;-

Michael Sutcliffe; Architect School Cottages Newgate Street Hertford SG13 8RA e-mail


Recent Posts
bottom of page